Question for RO Users

How do you determine when to replace your RO filters?

I’ve had my RO for a couple of years now. I don’t go through a whole lot of RO. I run 1 or 2 plants at a time and use RO for cooking, drinking water, and coffee. I noticed a few days ago that my RO has a foul taste, even though PPM remains under 100. I replaced the filters yesterday and am flushing the system now. We’ll see how it tastes later today.

3 Likes

I just got a RO buddy a few weeks ago, on my filter it says 6 month or 1500 gallons to change filter. not sure if thats a marking thing or what. no way i can tell how much water i used but ill test mine when it hits six months. let me know how it tastes after the flush

2 Likes

I don’t use RO instead I use the ZERO water filter…I would think you measure the PPM output of the RO system and replace filters when that starts to go up

2 Likes

I’ve been using the R/O Buddy for several years now. I change the filters every 6 months, and the membrane once a year on average. That’s under pretty heavy use. I go through about 10 to 15 five gallon jugs a week. When the filters and membrane are new, the TDS readings are very close to zero, sometimes 2 or 3 ppm. After a few months the ppm of the water starts to go up a tiny bit at a time. When it reaches about 25ppm, usually 6 months or so, I replace the filters. Then the membrane gets replaced either in another 6 months, or if the ppm gets too high for my liking. I try to stretch as far as I can cause everything is so expensive now. If I’m near the end of a grow I wouldn’t be in a hurry to replace it because the ppm is up to 50, but if I had younger plants I’d rather start with the lowest ppm possible, so I’d replace it early.

If you buy the replacements on Amazon, make sure you have a roll of Teflon tape on hand. The filters don’t come with the little fittings on the ends. You have to take them off the old filters and reuse them.

6 Likes

Agree with my fellow Rush fan. :slight_smile: