Proper way to measure ppm?

Just got my ppm meter… how exactly is it done? If you measure the runoff right after feeding aren’t you gonna get the ppm of what you put in?? Or do you wait a few days and test with ph’ed zero ppm water?? little confused

1 Like

Salts can concentrate in the soil/media if you do not feed enough liquid through the medium. You are looking to get the same PPM out as you are feeding.

3 Likes

so i do the reading the same time as feeding??Isn’t it gonna be the same as it put in? I wouldn’t think you could measure the intake so quick

@Rob10737 try this thread

SOIL, PH, PPM, RunOff / please explain 2 me

2 Likes

You want to water or feed until you get about 20% run off collect that and test ppm and ph
If your ppm are higher then what you put in your over feeding

How high you want your ppm will depend on what stage of growth your in

2 Likes

I’m just learning this myself mate I would say leave your run off for an hour or two then test the solution like you said you could be testing a weak solution but after two hours I remove the waters as it could get to wet in there

Strain; I believe Northern lights

Soil in: grow bag 5 Gal…roots organic

System type? 2X2X5 Grow tent

PH of runoff or solution in reservoir? 6.4

What is strength of nutrient mix? nectar for the gods…using half strengh

Indoor

Light system, size? HGL 100 3000

Temps; 60 at night 79 during day

Humidity; 45-60%

Ventilation system; fan

AC, Humidifier, De-humidifier, NA

Co2; NA
I just did a feeding with Nectar at 6.3 PH and 474ppm before feeding… run off was 6.4 and the ppm was 980. Thoughts? the plant is 5 weeks old.

2 Likes

sounds to me from what @Countryboyjvd1971 said, you are over feeding. good luck on your grow @Rob10737 . the gang here will get you straightened out!

Thank you. That what it looks like… I am only using half strength but doesn’t the roots organic soil have nutes in it? I replanted using the roots organic 2 weeks ago… took out of topsoil.