Pro-mix premium all purpose mix

Went out searching for pro-mix and found this product at one of the big box stores. Thought it would do what I wanted but now that I’ve looked it up I see it has time release properties. Here is a link to it.

I’m getting ready to transplant my seedling into this… Good or bad idea?

4 Likes

Curious as to what others think as well. One side of me says it’s a big gamble going with time release. Especially since they don’t list any nutrient values. The other side thinks it will probably work fine, and you just found an easily sourced affordable growing medium.

2 Likes

I’m not a pro but I believe it’s ok however my dude @Countryboyjvd1971 maybe able to help let’s wait.

2 Likes

I sent an email to pro-mix asking what time release nutrients are in this bag. Waiting on response. It may not be answered until Monday I’m afraid.
While we’re waiting on that, when I do transplant should I add some root hormone to the bottom of the hole I’m going to transplant into?

3 Likes

time release fertilizer. I have seen two grows with issues using this soil in last few months.I would recommend you do not use it.

Anything with organic soil and nutrients with perlite is fine. My local true value stocks a couple generic potting soils with perlite that I have used recently with no issues!

@barry1 @Stoner_Cody420 @dbrn32 @Countryboyjvd1971

3 Likes

Mykos and Asos seem to be a popular combination for promoting root growth during transplanting. They have beneficial microbes that help increase the availability of nutrients in your soil.

1 Like

I’ve never used the promix my self but I do know they have different types of promix and some are not good for us
@Hogmaster and @latewood I believe use promix
I’ve heard good stuff on the promix but it needs to be the right one so hopefully one of those guys will see the tag and jump it @barry1
Good info @Ray4x
And thanks for the tag @bob31 sorry I can’t be of more help tho