Prep list for a first timer basically

I’ve tried to grow in the past and my poor plants made is 5 weeks and never got bigger than a couple inches tall, to be fair the seeds were from a bag I had “mystery bud” in and I didn’t even expect to see plants. I have now purchased some nice fem seeds and am ready to try again.
I have a 3x3x4 tall indoor grow tent
Seeds
A couple small lights to start seeds
And definitely space

I’m very new to growing things and I have a small but reasonable bit of cash for soil, some nutrients and a couple buckets, as I’m growing for personal use only. Not sure if I need to buy super expensive lights? And I live where it’s already cold so do I wait to start?? I could get hooked up through winter but I’d rather learn more things as it’s a favorite thing of mine to do in winter.
Any and all help would be super appreciated, even directing me to other threads. I am super down to do the homework because I’d love to be successful
Thanks everyone

10 Likes

You’re starting off on the right foot by laying out a plan and asking for advice.

What seeds do you have?

4 Likes

Digital PH and PPM water testing meter are a must .

5 Likes

I got purple haze and bergmans gold leaf… if I can get those going I really want to get some blue dream and Girl Scout cookie but those are future plans…

I’ve read a bunch so far and will for sure be getting fox farms soil and nutrients

Is a cloth pot better than a plastic 5 gallon bucket?

Eventually ( after Christmas and I recooperate funds ) I want to drop 150-250 on a nice light for my little set up though I don’t know if I’m going to have to for something that will fit in my corner tent??? But from what I understand light is a huge factor for indoor grows.

I’m also trying to figure out how to keep it warm enough as my space is 10-15 degrees cooler than my house

4 Likes