PPM's Reverse Osmosis, Distilled or Tap?

Up front, I am a novice on DWC!

Now that is out of the way I have a statement, then a question.

It is my understanding that PPM are used in DWC as a gauge to determine the content of particles in the water. When starting out using reverse osmosis or distilled water, your have a very minimal particles in it or “very close to it”, at this point, we have a good base of low PPM that we can compare against. This allows us to determine how many nukes or particles that reside in the water, supplying a way to monitor intake of food or water the plant is partaking of…

Now…

During seedling stage to early veg stages of the plant, which are during the stage of growth that “some” would go light on the nukes Now if you are using RO water or distilled, and you are going light on the nukes already, then the water should have a low PPM to start with.

So my Question is,

During times of low PPM, during the first few weeks of growth, How would it effect the plant if we just used normal Tap water that is full of PPM’s, “example, my house is about 570ppm from tap”

but my thinking is, if you are not in the state of growth that you max out the PPM, are we not able to use just tap water with “high PPMs”, with the exception of the PH being adjusted properly?

Are there particles that the plant JUST does not like?

Or is there some other factor I am missing?

Does anyone have a take on this? I do apologize if this does not make sense to anyone.

5 Likes

@kw_Bat

The high PPM/TDS are usually calcium, lime, and some iron. These values though represented in the meter, do not have any viable nutrients available to the plant.

Three basics need are required for a plant to grow.
Let’s discuss the N-P-K ratio.
The NPK ratio contain the 3 basic elements of what a plant requires for growth. To be clear, there are other elements in play as well, such as copper, iron, sulfer, calcium, magnesium, and so on, but for simplicity let’s keep it to three.