Please don't laugh

Rank newbie here, first time grow with a True OG clone purchased from the dispensary. We’ve been tending lovingly to it, with some good advice from the fine folks on this forum. FF Ocean Forest soil with perlite, have fed her twice in ten days with decent Dr. Earth nitrogen dominant.

Here’s the situation: My concern is that she’s not getting enough light. We move her pot outside in the morning where she gets about four hours in the morning, then inside to a sunny window when it gets too hot outside, where she stays till the next morning.

And here’s the part I don’t want you to laugh at in the kind of “why is this newbie asking about the benefits of Miracle Grow” or “yes, watering every day is too much” way:

We want to supplement our veg with a grow light, but we just have the one plant (for now). I see on Amazon the best-sellers in “Growing Lamps” are around $30 to $35. Some are full-spectrum (better, I learned here), and they seem to be highly adjustable, but at 80 watts, would one of these even come close to my needs? (cue laughter)

We may try this little experiment again, maybe with seeds. Would one of these be good for germination? (knee slapping)

Thanks to all who help!

1 Like

You could grow with just cfls. I’ve seen it done. As long as you’re not expecting a large plant to give dense buds, you might get by on a $35 light.
50 Actual watts at the Wall/sq foot is a good rule of thumb for low efficacy lights.

1 Like

This is the cheapest I’d reccomend but your better off getting a mars hydro ts1000 in the long run if you ever plan on doing indoor growing (though you could use the parfactwork to assist the ts1000 if you do a 4x4) Amazon.com