Please critique my plan

I am brand new to the growing and I am very excited about it. I am an older person that lives in Michigan USA. It is now legal to grow here so the wife gave me the go ahead and her I go.

Here’s my plan.

1. I purchased the outdoor mix from ILGM and it arrives today.
  2. I plan on dropping (6) of my seeds in water for 24 hours.
  3. I will have leftover seeds what do I do to preserve them?
  4. Wet paper towel in baggie until they sprout a little.
  5. Place the sprouted seeds in little containers with For Farm Ocean Forest in them.
  6. Keep a grow light on them 18 hours a day and water them with a mister.
  7. Four weeks later transplant them into bigger pots with the same FFOF.
  8. When weather permits transplant outdoors (many questions when that day comes).

Please critique my plans with any suggestions. Keep in mind I am a bit older and I am not hip to some of the modern nomenclature you may use.

Thanks everyone

4 Likes

I keep my leftover seeds inside ziplock bags, in tupperware, with some silica packets, in the veggie drawer of my fridge.

Fox farm ocean forest is not the best for starting seeds. I’d get some seedling specific soil.

18 hours of light works, I go 24/7 until theyre established.

Keep them warm. A cable box or a seedling mat will do the trick.

5 Likes

Dude! You said everything I was going to haha.

4 Likes

OK thanks guys. I got some seeding soil at the Nursery today.

@CadCaman fox farms has happy frog for seedlings. I have a ton of success with it. Then I change over to ff of.

I would add don’t have a set time before transplant. It won’t be four weeks before transplanting if your starting container is too small. Don’t let then get root bound before you transplant.

I agree, solid plan. When you place them into paper towel you want it damp, not soaked. Then make sure to trap some air into bag, and put it some place warm like on top of cable box.

1 Like