Plant Sexing Traits

Have have 4 mystery (bag seed) plants. I’m not going to thin them out until I see boy parts, but I do have a question.

Two of my plants are tall and lanky and 2 of them are shorter and bushier, despite each receiving the same care and training. I’ve read here and elsewhere that male plants tend to be taller and have a longer nodal spacing, which is exactly the difference I am calling out.

I know each plant is also genetically a bit different too, but are the characteristics of these individual plants giving me signs of things to come?

3 Likes

Personally, I have seen it go both ways. Ones I thought were going to turn out female become male and vice versa but, I’m no expert by far. That was my only experience with indoor growing until now. I would start my plants flip as soon as possible yank males and take the rest up in the mountain

2 Likes

I flipped them last Wednesday, so I am getting curious. The difference in the characteristics I point out are really starting to show since they seem to have started the stretch.

It could just be that 2 of them are stretching earlier, I suppose.

1 Like

This is mostly true, but always verify sex before tossing. Definitely a reason to be suspicious. Just look for the balls.

2 Likes

I was wondering something. 1 of my plants is growing taller than the other. I don’t know if there autos or not. Also I think there females but need someone’s observation to tell me if it’s a for sure Male or female. I’m in week 6 of Veg.

If you can’t see the nodes to tell sex of plant I can take a closer up pic of them.

You’ll need a close up shot of the canopy area. Usually the taller ones are males, but not always.

1 Like

Okay I’ll post some more pictures of them. Give me a few and I’ll have them up

1 Like

First 2 pictures is same plant. Between nodes look the same as other plant. It looks to me like calyx or however you spell it lol.