Ph up which is better

Which is better for raising PH in a soil medium potassium carbonate or potassium hydroxide and why?

1 Like

General Hydroponics PH UP.

Think the correct answer is both

4 Likes

The General Hydroponics bottle I have is only the carbonate version. Many of us use the GH product. I don’t know that you will find anyone here in the forum that can debate one product over another.

1 Like

Thank you

The pieces of sheepskin in a box somewhere says I have a degree or two in this stuff. :rofl:

Potassium Bicarbonate (K2CO3) buffers against pH changes.

Potassium Hydroxide (KOH) is an outright strong, bad ass, base and is paired with another soluable salt or organic acid to be used as a bufferring agent.

I would want that buffering ability of K2CO3. Easy to overshoot that desired pH endpoint with a strong base like KOH.

I spent a bit of time on the bench doing titrations determining the “buffering” ability of soils/waters (alkalinity).

Done being a chemist for the day - that hurt my brain. Going to run errands and meet at local ILGM grower at the cannacon (@Bonjoyle )

5 Likes

Ooooonly because I’ve bought so much sxxx that I don’t use, and rarely do I need to raise my pH, I’ll use a pinch of baking soda. I haven’t had to raise it (if it lands a little low, I just let it sit for a day or so and it drifts up) in months, though. I use Jacks nutes and if it falls too low, now, I know I mixed too much or too little of something and start over. It’s cheap. Having said all that, if it is a common thing when you mix, I’d go with pH Up.

2 Likes

@Borderryan22 Excellent information! I have small bottle with a dropper of the silicon solution I have (high pH) to use if ever needed.

1 Like

Dolomite lime is great for getting ur ph correct in ur soil

@Borderryan22 growing in soil or coco?