Ph low … and a this normal

Just feed my plants… pre ph test 6.5 after feeding 4.5. I’m a newbie is this normal.
Just did it so I we’ll test again

1 Like

It is normal for nutrients to lower the ph level. You should though adjust your ph after adding in your nutrients.

1 Like

What soil? I had issues ( along with many many many many many others) with happy frog and oceans farm. You will need to supply more information to accurately figure it out. What kind of PH tester and many other things. I’m sure someone else will chime in

1 Like

You could use some Dolomite to amend your soil. Will help stabilize you mr acidic soil and bolster calcium and magnesium too.
Down to Earth Organic Prilled Dolomite Lime, 5 lb
https://a.co/d/flefNTI

1 Like

How much of this do you use in a 5gal pot ?

Hey @MrRobot my calculation comes up to 1.6 tablespoons using the product mentioned above.
From the application rate for 5.5 pH is 10 cups per 100 square foot. By converting to tbsp at 16 tablespoons per cup (10 x 16 = 160tbsp). For your container I’d estimate you have 1 square foot that needs coverage. Converting to application tablespoons I came up with (1/100 of 160) or 1.6 tablespoons per square foot.

@LateNightGardner does it really work?

1 Like

That’s what I’ve read on this forum.
I’m an indoor hydroponic DWC gardener and use a product for that type of system. It’s a strong Base that raises pH.

You can also use the product I use called pH up from General Hydroponics.

There are a number of strong bases that will raise pH but, select a strong base that raise pH but also uses components that are beneficial for growing plants.

You can just mix baking soda with your water after you mix nutrients it will bring your PH back up.

2 Likes

I already Ph the water but the runoff comes in lower then i want no matter what it goes in at… so going to give the lime a shot