Paging Dr green thumb

Hello I am new to this site but I am hoping that this site will be helpful for years to come. My question is about the problem I have with the germination process. I have been growing for about 6 yrs and I am sure I have done plenty wrong! 80 percent of my experience has been growing from clones and I love that way as its so much easier for me so far. but popping seeds has always been my downfall I just cant seem to find a sure fire way to make it work. I realize that its never 100% every time but would love to up my luck. what happens the most is I will have the seeds pop 95% of the time! but here is when it all goes wrong once I plant them in my growing media of choice at this time it is 50% Pro mix 50% Happy frog and 25% worm castings. Once planted most don’t even bother to come up and die before reaching for light. I will have a few make it last go around I had 2 out of 5 make it and it was almost just one. I tried the cup of water method seems to work well then I have planted them into rockwool, rapid rooters, soil, and coco. this time I went with rapid rooters they work great for clones and I seen a lot of people on youtube were doing this as well before they transplanted them to soil so I tried it. Same problem just does not pan out for me well. My process this time was germination in a cup of distilled water in a 80 degree environment inside a humidity dome. they cracked well then put them in the rapid rooters in the dark in the humidity dome at 80 degrees. like I said before 2 out of the 5 made it and it was almost just one. the ones that do make it most of the time look sick and wilting or the roots stay short as they seem not to be searching for anything. kinda think I may have them in a environment that is to wet or damp could this be the cause I don’t know. if I do the cup of water to soil method how do you know what is to much water and what is to little? And once they are placed into the soil I’m sure the humidity dome process i