Outdoor inground Timing and color questions

I do not own a loupe but a decent camera on my old S6.
My guess is about week 3? I dont really know a pistol from a trichome just see different colored hairs and some crystals. She’s nearing 6’ high and every bit of 6’ wide I collect rain water and have used monster bloom and Mole asses for 2 weeks now.
Can someone point out what I should look for in this pic? Thanks first grow but I’ve been gardening for about 30 years

You’re going to need magnification. At least 30x. A jeweler’s loupe or digital microscope will work.

You need to be able to see these little guys, when you get closer to harvest.

WIN_20200820_05_38_52_Pro

1 Like

@UncleCharley-
The slightly whitish/brown hairs in the center are the pistils. You cant really tell in this picture, but it looks like this plant is just starting to flower. Are there any buds yet? The “crystals” you refer to are the tricomes, and you really need magnification to see them better. At first they will look like tiny, skinny mushrooms, with long stalks. They will be clear at first, and gradually they will turn cloudy. When they are all cloudy your plant is at peak thc levels. If the plant is not harvested the tricomes will start to turn amber. The effects of the plant will change when they are mostly amber. Hope this answers your question.

1 Like

Will these be on the sugar leaves?

Yes, but you really need to examine the trichs from flower to determine maturity.

3 Likes

yes, they will be on the leaves under the buds and on the buds themselves.

Sugar leaves and calyxes (buds). You want to check ripeness on a calyx though, not a sugar leaf, because trichomes on sugar leaves ripen faster.

You have several weeks left before you’ll need to check though.

1 Like

Yes I guess there’s no getting around the purchase of the loupe. My money is very tight.
Thanks this points me in the right direction. BTW The stems of the plant are beefing up w/buds I am very excited this thing is huge.