Outdoor in ground already flipped

I transplanted my photo plushberries into the ground 6/14 in chicagoland.
Did some pruning 7/31 and gave a dose of magnesium bwo epsom.
By 8/12 started seeing a large number of pistols.
By 8/17 pistols obvious and stems are bushing up.
My question is, why has she flipped (not complaining frost come early here) we were getting around 9 hours of darkness 8/12.
She gets a solid 13 hours direct sunlight now.
Could be our nice cool evenings w/a temp swing of 30 degrees?
Thanks in advance for any input.
I’ve been gardening for 30 years and have a multitude of hobbies but this is my first grow.

2 Likes

In two states over east, and I have outdoor plants that have started to flowering as well.

2 Likes

Lots of States down in TX, and I’m flowering as well. Environmental factors, gotta love em

1 Like

So are you guys experiencing large temp swings over night?
I’m just trying to pin point the flip for future reference.
Not sure I’ll grow outdoor again. I have to keep company out of parts of my property for fear of loose lips.

1 Like

I’m two to the east of @UncleCharley and one down from @Covertgrower. I started flowering about 2 weeks ago, just ahead of some really cool nights, low 60’s - mid to upper 50’s.

1 Like

Indiana @LandShark ? lol.

No, Ohio. You had a 50/50 shot! :laughing:

1 Like

This is why I don’t gamble, I just lost had I been betting. Lmao!

1 Like

Apparently light is not the only controling factor in the bloom process, as all the literature I’ve read so far suggests.
It’s a wonderful thing this forum, that allows us to share actual experience to glean from.
Thank you for your imput.

1 Like

I’ve had plants begin flowering outdoors by the end of July with 14 hours of sun. Mother Nature.

1 Like