Outdoor grow. What potting soil to use

This is my first time grow. I live in a state that allows recreational grows. My question concerns the type of potting soil to use in my containers. I’m growing in pots because I don’t get continuous sun in my back yard. I need to move the pots around to give the plants as much sun as possible. I’m retired so I can do this. I’ve looked online for the best potting mix to use. Fox Farm, Roots Organic, Dr. Earth, Black Gold Organic, etc. Some of these mixes seem to have some sort of problems. Gnats, sticks and other things. Can anyone recommend a good potting soil to use? I’ve done some research on super soils and they seem like a lot of work for my first time grow. I want something a little easier. I found online a company that makes a premix super soil concentrate that you add to a potting mix that I would like to try. Its called Natures Living Soil. But I need to add it to a potting soil Any suggestions? I will be growing White Widow Auto Fem since this is my first grow. Thanks.

1 Like

I have used Happy Frog for 3 years. I tried Fox Farm and I wasn’t impressed. I always use a starting soil before I put my plants into their final pot. These pre-made potting soils are usually pretty hot with nutes.
Another favorite around here is Pro Mix.

1 Like

Hello.
I use Natures living soil and i mix mine with Blackgold all purpose organic potting soil. I also mix perlite.
Im also about to do my first outdoor grow, and i will be using that mix. :smiley:
But i will be adding something for bugs, i just dont know what yet.

1 Like

@SeenDog I’d be interested in what you add for pests. I’m just now starting 4’x4’x20” planter boxes.

3 Likes

I’ll be growing outside this year and like to know about pest control additive also