Organic soil/coco questions

So I haven’t started my grow yet but for my pots im doing x4 5-Gallon pots, I have 20 gallons of pure coco brick, 4 lb of worm castings, 4 gallons of perlite, and I’m using the IHGM organic dry ammendments thought the grow, mycorazze for 4 transplants, will that be sufficient or should I get a bag of natures living soil with it? I’m trying to stick all organics but this is my first time and really want the most bang for my buck as for as quality, Dont care too much about yield as its for personal use

5 Likes

If you want to be growing in coco, use the coco. If you want to be growing in soil, get some soil. In my opinion, don’t mix them without a clear and discernible purpose for doing so. Cannabis in coco likes a ph around 5.8. In soil, it prefers 6.5. That’s just one of many complications you’ll encounter by trying to mix the two.

IMO coco with some perlite for drainage, mycos for good microbes, and a small addition of worm castings to give the microbes “somewhere comfortable” to live is more than sufficient for the grow medium.

6 Likes

Absolutely agree with the above. Yes it works to mix, but ull be inviting more headaches then ur equipped to deal with as a new growers.

Use what u got, the coco should be plenty and alot of growers actually prefer it for speed of growth, its a good deal faster then soil honestly. I prefer soil myself… diff strokes for diff folks.

What strains are you looking at?

And do you have a light source chosen?

6 Likes

This plant of mine is grown in coco coir with peat and perlite mix and i use all natural organic nutrients

U can use coco and its not a headache to do so just have a look at my girl and i my ph in my run off is 6.9 and my ppm in the run is 649

1 Like

Here’s my mix.

4 parts coco coir
1 part composted manure/worm castings
1 part perlite.