Newbie advice - ready to harvest? Too late?

Hello…second post from a newbie here.

Back in July (so long ago!) I posted my first question, with my poor plant that was taking a long time to do anything (see this thread First timer help - tall plant with few leaves)

Well its nearly a whole 6 months later! After it started warming up in the Southern Hemisphere I moved the plant outside and I think its now ready to harvest, maybe overdue with too much brown on the pistils!. The buds seem smaller than I was expecting, so I kept expecting them to grow a bit. However most of the buds have mostly brown pistils (some are fully brown, some are mostly white). I think that means I should harvest now??

Problem is I’m going away for Christmas in two days time and I’ll be gone for 2 weeks!! Is it ok to leave them drying in a dark room for 2 weeks (weather will be mid 20s-high 30s celsius), or should I wait until I get back and risk it being too long?? Is there a danger they will overdry too much in that time???

Also, is it usual for plants to take this long to grow, or is it because I didnt have strong enough lights or fertilisers initially? I’ve got a couple of pictures of closeups of the bud, and of the whole plant. You can see its still quite “stretched”. I did top it once but I think the damage was done before that.

I tried to germinate 2 seeds since but they both died :frowning: I do not have a green thumb!!!

Ok, there’s a few things I wanna point out, so you know for next time.

First off, congratulations on your first grow. Always think of it as a learning experience. :slight_smile:

Ok, you already knew your lighting was lacking, and that’s the main reason for your yield size, and proper nutrition but honestly, it looks like you’ve done very well for what light you had.

In the pictures, it looks as if you’ve removed fan leaves. This too would limit yield size.