Newbee Grower: Ph lesson learned

Howdy all

I am a newbie cannabis grower started this year, but I have been gardening all my life. Although I have never paid much attention to ph for gardening I used the city water, through my readings prior to growing I realized Ph was an important aspect of growing as was water quality. No more straight city water.

As I am only growing for personal use (2 people) my water usage is minimal so I purchase Crystal purified water from the machine outside my Safeway grocery store $0.25 per gallon. I have a bunch of 7 gallon water containers for camping which I use for storage. I also have a bunch of 1 gallon bottles that I use for mixing.

Based upon my reading I needed Ph for soil growing (switching to coco for next grow) in the low to mid 6 range. The Crystal water Ph was a little high so I used white vinegar to lower the Ph to that range. I then used that water to water AND mix my nutrients in, using Fox Farms Trio for soil.

I was advised by someone who grows professionally that using vinegar will change the Ph but that over time it will revert to the original Ph. I did a test with 1 gallon of water and found that the Ph remained stable for at least 4 weeks so I don’t mix more than I am going to use in the next few days.

While reading about Coco growing medium I read for the first time to check the ph AFTER adding the nutrients and adjust the Ph then. This should have been obvious but when starting out I was trying to carefully follow growing procedures I had read.