Newb looking for advice

I’m a beginner and currently am at the beginning of my first grow. I’m growing a Zkittles Autoflower plant in a 5 gallon pot using fox farm happy frog soils with a small amount of ocean forest at the bottom… the problem I’m having is getting a good water schedule down and how much. Up until now I have been adjusting the ph of my water then spraying with a small spray bottle at the base of the plant like twice a day. The seed was planted on December 27th so I’m a few weeks in I will post a few pics so you have a idea of where the plants are at currently. If you could offers up and advise on watering and lighting. I have a Diablo 200 currently. I would greatly appreciate it because I am feeling lees than confident in this grow. Thanks for your time it’s much appreciated

5 Likes

@Strummer77
For now I would take a solo cup and place it over the plant and take another solo cup (full of water phed to 6.5) and water around the cup you placed over the plant so the roots have to reach out for the water and grow
Each time you water after that go a little farther out watering each time probably every 3 days to start then increasing watering each time
You shouldn’t need to solo cup over the plant after the first watering

13 Likes

Listen to Spanky!!! He taught me the same thing when I started!

5 Likes

Definitely excellent advice! That little rascal can grow some big buds! Heed the water ‘around’ the plant advice

5 Likes

With planting in a bigger pot I’ve read and heard from more experienced growers that the roots will go straight down whereas if you water around the edges and slowly work out it gets them to go out towards the edges and get to more soil, more soil = more nutes = more food = more girth…and who doesn’t love a girthy plant

By moving the watering ring out every so often you’re building a super strong root system and it’ll pay off

3 Likes