New to this, want to go organic

I am new to indoor growing, I just got a 24X24X55 grow tent and have Blue Dream auto ordered from ILGM. I have organic potting mix, perlite, peat moss, worm castings, Dr Earth’s 2-2-2, and a never ending supply of chicken manure. Suggestions on how I should mix. How often to feed? Organic nutes for flowering?

2 Likes

These should be enough to get started. I had a quick look at Dr. Earth and I think something like 2 cups per cubic foot should be on the conservative side. You can add a heaping helping of worm castings at the same time. You can use the DE for teas too. Worm castings are great in teas too if you wanted to juice up the DE tea (it’d benefit from some molasses added to the tea).

I’m in the perlite is cheap, filler material camp so tend to save it for low value crops. If your potting mix seems overly heavy then mix in a bit but you don’t need to go overboard (also consider the potting mix suspect for being so heavy). Unlike salt based fertilizer you won’t be running tons of waste water so the need for maximum drainage isn’t so important. Other than that it just takes up space that is better filled with compost, minerals or better aeration material. You just need a nice, airy mix not the “pours right through” mixes used with liquid fertilizer.

You can use this if you go the DIY route for soil. If you’ve got the back for it mixing your own and comparing it to bag soil will be an eye opening experience. Search for “coots soil mix” for a time-tested recipe. It’ll be a handy reference even if you decide to go the pre-mix route.

Besides a weekly-ish tea I do a top dress about a month before flip and a month after. With autos you can’t time it like that but it’s not an exact science. For autos I just do the first one 4-5 weeks from sprout and don’t sweat the timing. Sometimes you need some extra supplementation but it’s not a scheduled thing so you just deal with it as it comes up.