New to ILGM hi! Can I transplant from perlite to another bucket or leave it?

Hi ILGM! :smiley: I’m new to ILGM and new to posting in forums, so I will try my best to learn how it works, hopefully I don’t post in wrong area, etc. I’m excited to be here!
This is my first grow, using 5 gal buckets with perlite, 300w LED 9 band. Also have 2 COBS which I haven’t turned on yet. The person who was teaching me is not well, and unable to help me right now, so I am reaching out to make some new friends, and this looked like the perfect place to do that!
I have a couple of pictures, I will hopefully be able to add in, if I figure it out, haha.
My question is, well, what would you do? I was told to germinate 4 seeds, plant 2 each in a 5 gal bucket, then take out the males (if any) or the plant that doesn’t look as good. So far the two look great and I don’t see any signs of male parts. Two extra seeds ended up in the pot, and started growing. Can I transplant them into another bucket of perlite safely, they all look so healthy, and the last 2 started about 4 weeks after the first 2 plants. I am worried about overcrowding the roots, as they must be pretty big now from the first two. I am using micro and bloom for nutrients. Wise advise please?

3 Likes

We like photos. Yes, you can and should transplant when the roots and foliage are overcrowded. However, disrupting the soil and ripping tiny roots will slow the growth until the plant recovers. If you transplant, add B-1 or aloe vera if you have access to aloe vera. One healthy plant will max out a 5 gallon bucket.

1 Like