New Plants -- Too Much Sun?

I am starting a new batch of plants. I germinating them and planted them in 2 gallon pots and put them outside where they get full sun pretty much all day everyday. I live in Southern California where we get full sun almost everyday with daytime temps in the high 70’s to low 80’s and evenings in the 60s.

Is it OK these new plants in direct sun all day or is there some transition period? All 6 plants have sprouted 2 tiny little leaves today. 2nd question is their any special watering techniques or something I should be doing?

Thanks

I’m not an expert on growing pot outdoors, but any time I’ve ever started Vegetable or flower seedlings I find it best to shade them a little until they get established. Can use something porous so it lets diffused light through

1 Like

You’re fine at those temps. Water around what you feel is their root ball. Right now that’s virtually nothing so just around the stem. You want to make the roots search for water so keep moving that ring of water out until you fill the space. Right now think just enough water to survive. Again roots have to search for water so we don’t want to oversaturate them. Let medium dry thoroughly before next water. Good luck and post pics :+1:

1 Like

Thanks for the feedback. Kind of makes sense but done some regular gardening and planting and we typically just put the seeds directly in the soil and that’s about it.

If the plants are started as seedlings in the sun they are good to go. If you start them under artificial light, they should be hardened off.

1 Like

I’m also in Southern California. In my first batch of plants a few weeks ago I didn’t put them in the sun right away. They didn’t grow well—for that reason and a host of others. I germinated a new batch last week and put them directly in the sun, these are growing much better.

Lbay,