Never Grew Before

Hey All I am totally new to this whole growing thing but am so excited to start. I am a huge gardener and love everything plant related. I don’t smoke but my fiance does and I decided that I really wanted to see if I could be successful at growing some bud for him to be able to smoke. He built me a 4x4 enclosed grow space in our backyard garage that is rarely used and mainly just used for storage. I am curious about the light that I have the brand is MARS HYDRO and I am trying to figure out the wattage of it. does anybody know how i can find out?? I looked on there and didnt really know how to read the tag about about it. Didnt know if it was 300w or 132w. any help would be much appreciated !! I know its probably such a stupid question but figured id better ask then guess and fail :smiley:

3 Likes

@naeomii. Welcome to ILGM. :wave:
That is 132 watts actual wall draw.
The 300 they claim is a total of all the led’s combined plus a fan if that light has one.
Based on 50 w / sq ft. That light won’t be enough to flower a 4x4 space.
@dbrn32 is the local light wizard and can recommend a light that will work for your space.
:+1::v:

4 Likes

so can I use this light for a little bit till I can get a different one??

4 Likes

Yes. It will veg the plants till they out grow the light foot print. :+1:
Should be good for about 3-4 weeks or so.
:wink::v:

4 Likes

Hello and welcome to the forum!

Indeed looks to be 132 watt light. A lot of the Chinese light manufacturers will attach a number to their fixtures that isn’t really accurate. It’s a little bit of marketing ploy to get their fixtures to seem a little bigger than they are. The light you have would be good for flowering up to a 2’x2’ space, if you veg on 18 hour schedule it will be good for larger space during that period.