My lighting journey

I am new to this and trying to do it relatively inexpensively but still use LED’s.

Started with a very weak light, then got a 150w light from Viparspectra on Amazon.

Then I got this 240w one from Green Beams

I notice that the color of the light from the Green Beam one looks yellower, more like sunlight than the other one which has a more whitish hue.

Not sure what that means.

I guess next step will be an HLG at some point. In the meantime I hope this is sufficient for a first start.

1 Like

It’s due to more red spectrum. Red light and green light combine to make yellow light.

2 Likes

It doesn’t look like there are green lights on either. Just red and white? Or is the green not visible?

Correct. Humans see the sum of the light spectrum rather than the individual colors of the light spectrum. You can see the individual colors only if you separate the colors with a prism.

3 Likes

The green beams light fixtures are fantastic I own one myself. 240w, my closet grow canopy is about 34”X42” and it covers its entirety very well. I have not had to run it over 80% to get my preferred DLI output. Such a difference between any other light I’ve ever used. Lighting is crazy important.

Buy quality, if you know what you’re looking for BEFORE you buy. If you don’t know where to begin there are a few knowledgeable members for lighting. HLG is among the best in the market it’s expensive for a reason. They use only the latest most efficient top bin diodes, pair it with the top performing drivers, best cables, hangers, and heat sinks. You can still purchase a quality light fixture that’s not HLG, just know what to buy.