My first grow around the equator

Hi. This is my first time attempting to grow anything.
I joined this platform for the sake of documenting & learning because I found out a had a lot to learn. I’m about 4 months in now. I’m growing in the ground outdoors in the equatorial region where the photo period is approximately 12/12 all year round.

Since it’s my first grow, I didn’t feel the need to spend money on seeds yet. I also did not know a reliable website I could order seeds from who would deliver to me here in West Africa (so if anyone has recommendations, I would appreciate it as I would like to be more specific on genetics on my next grow). I had been collecting seeds from the cheap poorly grown cannabis easily found around here, so I germinated a few of them. I had about 5 plants in the beginning which happened to be all female luckily, but I uprooted other plants leaving just one.

It’s a sativa, probably a landrace. (The locals don’t know the names of the strains from around these parts).

I didn’t spend money on fertilizer either because I’m working on a tight budget for this experiment. I have laying birds though, so I made a habit of adding poultry manure in little quantities once in a while.

I didn’t know growing a wild strain outdoors would take so long. Four months in now, & it’s been flowering for like a month & a half. I’m not sure when it will be ready for harvest.
I had to prune the top when it suddenly began to stretch after the rains stopped & I began watering by myself. Even after pruning it’s about 5”8 right now. I also noticed quicker growth in the buds few days after I pruned the top off the collars.

I’ll update as I progress, & would also appreciate helpful tips from more experienced growers.

4 Likes

Cool grow! Good luck and I’m watching.

1 Like

Welcome to the community !not sure if ILGM ships to your area or not but would be worth a try good company to work with. Good luck

Welcome to the community of growers