Mold in mature buds?

I have a very few dead leaves in my (outdoor) mature colas. When I pull them with tweezers, a tiny puff of white smoke appears. At the base, I can see mold stems and spores under the microscope. What now? Trichomes are cloudy but not amber yet. Very few infected leaves, but I fear spreading. The buds are dense and probably plenty of humidity inside. It rained here two days ago.

3 Likes

Yes, bud rot. If it hasn’t attacked all of your plant yet, I would do this:

1-Harvest the affected areas immediately and go past where you believe the infection is.

2-Spray the rest of the plant or plants with water and 2 tsp hydrogen peroxide per gallon.

3-Run a fan on them and get them dry as quickly as possible AND KEEP THEM THAT WAY!!!

Finally, if you are really close: you might want to harvest because bud rot is a bugger!

I really feel for you and I have some experience with this. You have to be quick and hard hearted. The affected/removed buds can be examined, the affected areas removed and then they could be soaked for 5 minutes in 1/4 cup of hydrogen peroxide per gallon of water, followed by a rinse. That OUGHT to salvage the buds around it. Cure as normal.

Looks like you caught it early. Pretty plants!

7 Likes

That’s what Robert suggest

Good luck

2 Likes

@ProctorPot where the dead leafs are I would pry apart the bud and look where those leafs meet the main stem. I bet you will find some white furyness occurring at the stem, or at least that’s what I’ve found when finding dead leafs like that. Bud rot typically starts at the stem.
I try and cut out the molded areas carefully so not to spread the mold spores.

That’s it. Bud rot. But it’s early, and not all buds have it (visible) (yet). Am trimming today.

It’s been abnormally humid here for days, and had rare rain 3 days ago.

Close inspection revealed at leat one worm in the moldy part. Maybe worm infestation allowed the bud rot in.

1 Like