Moisture after curing in jars

Hello all! I am fairly new to growing and have searched here for an answer I couldn’t find. I have about 4 harvests of autos under my belt. The problem I am having is during and after curing. I hand my buds to dry in a closet with humidity at about 45 or so for a week or so. When the stems snap is when I quit drying. I then move it to quart mason jars in a dark closet burping them 1 time a day for 20 min or so when I out them in jars they are dry have a decent smell etc. After a few days in the jars they seem to get very moist and get the “hay” smell back to them. What I end up having to do is dump the jars on a drying rack for a couple days to redry. Then back to the jars. They seem to then rehydrate and get that hat smell again. When I use the drying racks the bud smells and tastes great. When I get it from the jar flavor and smell aren’t great. Still gets the job done. I’ve read many articles but haven’t found one about this. I’ve tried different techniques… Any one out there able to give some advice to s newbie that is really enjoying his new hobby???

1 Like

Following this. Doing my first harvest soon.

You need to burp the jars for at least 30 minutes every day for a couple weeks get some mini hydrometers and put one in each jar when you get the humidity to stay stable at 60-62% put 62% bovida packs in each jar. Keep an eye on the hydrometers and cure in the jars for another month

1 Like

Here’s an article on drying it will help walk you through it

This means that dry trimming typically produces a better smoking experience, with less of that grassy or hay-like flavor that you want to avoid.

That’s from that article @MeEasy posted. I was kind of wondering how to perfect my drying process too. There’s more too it but this article is a great place to start.

2 Likes

I got the drying part down its getting it all trimmed before some of it dries out too much. Hopefully I’ll find some help trimming approx 5lbs of buds.

2 Likes