MH or HPS for autoflowers?

Hi guys,
This is my first time posting on the site but I have read a bunch of it over the past year. This will be my first batch of autoflowers. I bought the seeds from ilgm and I can’t find anything on whether to use metal halides or high pressure sodium or change them out during the phases like a photo period? I have a little experience growing photoperiods but this being my first Autoflower grow any tips should be helpful. Thanks

1 Like

I would run the mh till pre flower then switch to hps. U can u hps thru out but mh has the blue for better veg

5 Likes

I agree with @Liljoe but I would run the mh until stretch is almost over. Unless you are looking for longer node spacing. Mh has more blue which is better for vegg. During the stretch, that’s still vegg. Hps has more red, which is better for flower

6 Likes

Good call on switching after stretch @HornHead I didnt think of that because I run both mh and hps from start to finish, best of both lights thru out :wink:

2 Likes

Thanks guys I was thinking it wouldn’t be any different from the photoperiods but figured I would still all just to know… Are 3 gallon pots big enough for autos?

I use 7 gallons and get big plants. What autos and from where?

I grow photos, also using 7 gal pots

White widow and blueberry autos from ILGM. I only use 4 gallon pots for my photos but with my 2 -1000 watt hid lights only being a tad over 6’ high in my tent I do a screen of green around the 4’ mark, but again those are photos.

Don’t think you can scrog autos but I grow wwa a lot and top everyone. I tie the branches to the sides of pot so it resembles a candelabra underneath. I end up with a nice flat canopy

4 Likes