Living Soil and Water Resevoir Q's

This is my first time growing in coco and I also added in Natures Living Soil. I’m using RO that brings the ppm down to about 40. I need some advice regarding to what I should be adding to my water, if anything. Seedlings are a week old. From what I gather, you shouldn’t have to ph your water with the living soil. Mine comes out of the RO machine at around 9, makes me nervous to use it like that. Should I ph it anyway? Should I still be using Calmag? Once I figured it out I’d like to keep a resevoir but also need to figure out how long the water will still be usable after adding in whatever it may need. Any input would be appreciated

Good question! I have grown in coco but never with that type of amendment. Did you mix per the posted instructions for soil? I feel like the frequency of watering coco requires will strip the majority of nutrients fairly quickly, but I don’t know that for sure. You may want to get a complete nutrient package in mind just in case, then monitor your runoff and see how things go.

I would caution not setting ph though if your mix is mostly coco. Maybe @Budbrother has some insight?

1 Like

With that mix I probably wouldn’t ph water till I knew what it does to my soil ph after a couple rounds.

Measuring runoff ppm wouldn’t be necessary because you’ll have very high numbers (4-6k) from the organics and wouldn’t get an accurate reading.

Using calmag is up to you and your grow style. You still need calcium and magnesium, but there are other ways to provide both.

Ok so teas are brewed from 22 hrs to 48 hrs depending on bacterial or fungal dominance. They last about 2 hrs after brew finishes and strained. Adding to a reservoir wouldn’t be advised.

If looking to stay fully organic and not work at it, then buy and organic line of nutes that can run in hydro.

2 Likes