Lights to far from seedlings?

I’m new to this and this is my first grow. I’m concerned the light distance is not correct. I had the light about 36" from seedlings which are about 5 days old. They look like they are really reaching. The light is a King LED 3000W. Another concern is the moisture, the soil looks really wet. Only watered once when planted seeds. Should I lower the light? Should I take the top off the planter and let it dry out a bit? I have the temp set around 78 F and humidity at 65%. The planter is the heated type so it’s been on since I planted the seeds.

5 Likes

Leave top on. Dont water seedlings, mist dome and if you have to give water directly only a few drops per plant. My lights were within 9 inches of seedlings. HLG 260xl turned to min. About 100w or so.

Your light is different than mine so distance may very. Bottom line on height…if it stretches lower the light if it doesn’t stretch raise it a few inches and watch the plant, it will tell you!

5 Likes

Welcome to the forum. I’m still new also just dropping seeds on 3rd grow, each one I’ve learned so much from the fellow growers on forum. I keep my seedlings really close to light to make the nodes start close together but that’s just me other people have other ways. @dbrn32 is who most people get help with lights. I would take top off maybe turn off heat so they can dry. Again that’s me let’s tag you a few helpers @PurpNGold74 @LoCoRock @GreenJewels and anyone reading this new grower has questions Thank You :laughing::laughing:

5 Likes

As I said lots of ways just try it both ways sometime see what works for you Happy growing :sunglasses::laughing::laughing:

Also tag me in to watch your grow

1 Like

I would set your light height at around 20 to 24 inches. If they keep stretching and getting leggy then lower it down a few inches.