Lighting in the KISS category

Hi…I am looking for advice on fairly inexpensive lighting options for a 3x5 space in a basement. I am still new at this and want to start with something simple but also don’t want to waste money on something that doesn’t work. I have done a ton of reading and researching on this forum but I think I am even more confused now…lol!

1 Like

Gday@Paizley, I dont have any experience using led lights so I can only recommend H I D lighting.For the space you have I would recommend a 600w digital dimmable ballast with a metal halide for vegging and transition and a HPS for flowering. Its old school compared to some of the top line LEDs available but still more than capable of producing top quality buds.If temps could be an issue get yourself an aircooled hood and connect it to your exhaust fan. Good luck with your grow.

3 Likes

Fairly inexpensive? What are you thinking of spending? If you want to grow something decent in 3x5 @Paizley, you would need at least 600 actual watts of LED lights. That would be 2 of the better 600W lights from Amazon. If the temps are cool enough in your basement, you may want to go with @mountainman1 suggestion and use a 600 watt HPS light. It’s probably the cheaper option.

2 Likes

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.com.au%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F192164845020

1 Like

That’s what I’ve just bought ($300 AU) , couple days left for code that saves $30,Was number one pick 2018 LEDS, hoping should perform very well in a 4ft x 4ft tent.

AUNCUJYRTRHLKBM , enter that code for $30 saving,only couple days left with that offer,apparently this light was very impressive on the flower cycle.

@Fabes I’m sorry, but that light is only 340w at the wall. If you plan on filling up the 4x4 tent, then you will be pretty under lit. You would need 2 of them to flower a 4x4 tent at least.