Lighting before sprouting

Hi, newbie here

Never grown before, I’ve done some research regarding the processes and have a simple question which I’m finding difficult to answer

I have soaked seeds using the paper towel method and once the root has appeared I have then planted them in peat pellets.

They will be outdoor plants, just starting them inside. My question is regarding lighting.

Once the seeds are in their jiffy pellets, just underneath the soil with the root growing down, do I leave them in a dark place until they sprout out from the soil then introduce them to daylight Or do they need immediate light to come through the soil? As They will be outside plants can I put them on the window sill until they sprout? Then move outside once big enough?

Difficult to get an answer online.

All the help would be much appreciated

Thank you

1 Like

Seeds below the soil do not need light, but as soon as they break the soil light is the best option, just make sure you keep them warm, bottom heat is best, don’t let them dry out or keep them too wet and things should go well

• good luck

Edit: a window sill is not a great option, they dry out quick and die, some people put them on a propagation mat, cable box or something of the sort, you want 78-82 degrees (84 Max)

3 Likes

What I now understand is that for the seeds to sprout from soil, light is not necessary, but once they do, and this is my question, -apologies for this but once they do then, even if I use a propagation mat, the question is where do I place them once they have sprouted from the soil? I would like to use the outdoors but where in a house/inside or outside should I place them as they grow from sprouting out to the first 5-10cm or so.

Im in Australia in far north qld so days are long

Thanks for your patience