Let’s talk Ventilation and Filtration

Ok, I’m new to growing. I’m catching on slowly.

Like many of us, I fell into the Amazon Blurple trap when initially setting up my grow.

I’m worried the same traps are set for the fans and filters.

What I have now is a 4inch fan and filter, I’ll attach the link.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MSEVQ3J?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

I’ve determined that I need a 6inch fan and filter for two reasons. They are, temperature control and better scrubbing of the air for my wife’s peace of mind. Not to mention, I’m moving the 4inch set up to a veg tent.

So, fans and filtration.

Here are my questions.

It seems as if “Can-Filter” is the best brand. Is this true?

These filters seem a bit heavy. Will a tent support one?

What fan and activated charcoal filter are you using?

Where is your fan? Outside the tent?

Where is your filter? Floor? Ceiling?

Is anyone pushing the air through the filter rather than pulling?

Filter outside of the tent?

I’m tagging some people I know just to get this topic trending. @Hellraiser @dbrn32 @pptrsha1 @Bulldognuts @Myfriendis410

1 Like

I’m using a can66 and a max fan 6" but the ac infinity 6" fan is better from what I hear. Has temp controls or something.
I purchased a separate temp controller.

The Can66 weighs 44 pounds? Do you have it hanging in your tent?

What size tent?
As far as supporting heavy charcoal filters it depends on durability of tent structure.
I use this in line fan…it’s more expensive when adding the advanced controller but has Advantages over other fans like minimum set fan speed that ramps up when hitting max temp setting and then ramps back down…but never stops exchanging air and uses 1/2 or less power than others and as the fan runs 24/7 365 that savings adds up.

I use this fan for air movement inside tent (different that air exchange that the inline does) best fan to mimick outside breezes and it covers my 4x8 tent great.