Led grow light topic

Recently purchased an SK402 grow light. Should be here Monday. In forums opinion was this a good purchase?

Looks pretty good but waaaaay over priced. For that much you could have gotten yourself a couple hlg quantum board lights. @dbrn32 can tell you more

1 Like

I was looking at some of those and with the do it yourself models that most suggested there was only a one year warranty. The warranty was a pretty big factor in my decision.

Only problem I see is that the driver will be in the tent as well and that is where your heat is going to come from. I run cmh and took mine apart so ballast would be outside. Here’s my hood

And my ballast outside of tent

2 Likes

Nice. I’m really new to growing and still learning. I’m hoping with the monster heat sink on the SK402 that will help with the heat dissipation. I also have a pretty decent extraction fan to help

I have heard those lights are killer and used in professional grows my buddy who is a small medical producer runs CMH/HPS but he’s been saving up to switch to those) or at least they look the same and are made by the same company)

As long as you have a good fan for your tent size and are exhausting your hot stale air it should be fine but you it’s definitely gonna pump some heat out.

1 Like

Eventually I’m gonna be using it in a 6 by 8 by 8 walk in closet with a motorized rail to move it back and forth. I appreciate your positive feedback. Been trying to justify my purchase over and over again since I bought it. Really really hoping it’s worth the investment

1 Like

I also got it with the optional dimmer so will have to learn when and how to use that also lol

@HornHead it looks like your plants are doing really well under that set up. When I get a full grow from my new purchase I will post pics with the results

1 Like

Using the dimmer is just a knob you turn ussualy.
If your wondering how much light to give and when then learn about DFI and download a LUX app on your phone