LED distance vs Lux?

Hello everyone ,

Im new to LED setup and growing in general and I have a question that Im confused about.

Manufacture advice on LED installation is to keep 24” inch between plant and LED. However, after doing so I tested the luminous and its only around 10K Lux. Now I read somewhere a minimum of 15K lux is required for healthy veg.

Should I bring the light closer to the plant and risk a light burn?

Should I keep it as is to stretch or not having enough luminous for healthy growth?

I keep my top at about 10 000 lux and no veg issues at all, led and cfls.

Thanks @Liljoe ,

I’m in the process of researching this and apperanelty I should forget about Lux when using LED since it only target specific spectrum and I should focus on total power drawn.

Appreciate your help :v:

1 Like

No problem. You will always find an answer here :grin:
Happy growing.

1 Like

Please tell me that this isn’t bikini I frit… that’s too crazy if it is… :grin:

:v::sunglasses:

1 Like

I think 10000 lux is very low. Full sun is about 120000 lux! Most authorities say cannabis can’t use any more than 85000 lux without adding CO2. One problem with having the lights close is say you get 40000 lux at 10 inches. Then at 20 inches it will be 10000 lux, because of the inverse square law. So better to have more/stronger lights at more distance for more even lux.

@1BigFella 10000 is low but it it how i determine my light height, 10000 is my minimum. Any less and i drop lights. It is a cheap lux analog meter but gives me an idea of where im at. Also i am almst all cfl and about 125watts of led

My ladys are happy :grin: and no sun burn

1 Like

They grow fine there, but when you get to flowering your buds will all be fluffy.

1 Like

@dbrn32 here is some from my last run, i one they can always be better but i had a really decent turn out