Just a quick Question from new grower

Has anyone topped their auto flower strains, just curious if it can be done in the timeline they grow. Thank you very much.

1 Like

I don’t top my autoflower plants just some light training and a scrog net after they get larger. I am growing hydro

@southbound Thank you for your reply, new to this and advice is always welcome. Into 19 days and they all look healthy four sets of true leaves. Just trying to maximize my harvest if I make it that long. Thanks again.

1 Like

I topped my last autoflower at 21-days with really good success. I’ve read a lot of people don’t top and several do. I took a chance and it worked out. The worst you can do is stunt the girl a little.

1 Like

I top or FIM every time. It doesn’t slow them down a bit. I generally wait until there are 5 or 6 nodes.

2 Likes

This is my first attempt. They are white widow autos @southbound.

No topping etc just Scrog -day 40. I have topped other WWA and they did well. I think to top or not depends a lot on the strain. For example I would not top blueberry autos. They are generally compact with high indica %. As for the WWA here they are day 54 They stretched considerably and thinking I should have topped them. My light was probably to high and I got carried away with fox farm trio. My net was also set to low. Finally, here they are on day 63 They needed a little extra support

2 Likes

I usually top autos one time . Side branches will grow up and make a nice even canopy. Good luck with your autos.

1 Like

@bubblehead Thats kinda what I was thinking, went a little overboard with how many plants my little setup would handle. I think I will try with one to see.

@TommyBahama I saw on the forum a topic on FIM, said it promotes more branches, is that true?

@beardless Very nice looking plants, hope mine look as good, thank you for the advice and photos.

1st time micro indoor grow. Gorrilla glue. Red stems but i dont want to stress anymore.