Issues with first growing attempt

I purchased AK-47 autoflowerring. I germinated them by the instructions using room temperature water. After 3 days they had a stem sticking out about 3/8". I took them out of the water and put them in my trecaan system. No growth after that. Here’s where I’m at. pH is high 5s to low 6s. Temperature is 74.3. My tds is 388. I went by the nut instructions I put 1/2 tsp of the beginner in. My reservoir is 1 gallon. I haven’t gotten an EC meter yet. In the same system I also have herbs – basil, oregano, etc. They seem to be doing fine but nothing is happening with the AK. What do I need to do? All help will be appreciated as this is my first attempt at growing.

1 Like

Post some pics of the set up and how you’re germing the seed Growmie :love_you_gesture:

2 Likes

I know this sounds obvious but it’s not a stem but a tap root. You’re planting that pointing downwards correct? The hole only needs to be as deep as a pencil eraser. You should be starting with moist soil.

3 Likes

I see it’s an indoor hydroponic system but I’m unclear on the mechanism that holds the seedling - peat root cubes, rockwool, …? Need more info there.

How are you measuring this? In hydroponics, accuracy matters. It’s one of the few times you’ll see me make a fuss over the right pH range.

Got a pic? Hard to say without seeing what you see.

1 Like

Seeds are in lukandafi grow sponges - sphagnum peat
Pic of meters attached. They are JosLiki Digital PH Meter and a Willstar TDS Meter Digital Water Tester. I do not have an EC meter yet.
I’ve also included a picture of the tap root. I broke it trying to get it out of the sponge. It was in the sponge well over a week and there was no progress after that.