Is'nt it better to have grow bags that are taller than they are wide?

I am new to growing indoors in pots or bags, and in fact have not grown much cannabis in years… I bought these new fabric grow bags, they are quite wide… Seems like most of them are like that? Right? Mine are 5 gallon bags, and are about 12.2" wide by 10.2" tall. Does everyone have grow bags like that? I am growing in soil… So,does anyone know, do the roots grow as much sideways as they grow down? Regular pots for plants are taller than they are wide, for the most part, I think… Do cannabis plant roots grow out sideways a lot right near the surface? Don’t all kinds of plant roots grow down more than sideways? I always assumed that as the soil drys out, it drys out on top first, so then the roots go down more, to try to get to the water… Right? So, it seems to me like pots or grow bags for any plant should be taller than they are wide? Right? Other wise the good soil up near the top is just being wasted? Or once the pot or grow bag starts to fill up with roots at lower half of the pot or bag, the toots near the top half grow more sideways? Anyone know how this works? And if grow bags that are wider than they are tall, are not so good?

1 Like

Welcome I’ve noticed the fiber cloth pots come in different dimensions depending on the maker. Personally I like the Wider pot better than tall skinny pot. I’ve used both the root system will fill the pot either dimension. Just my thoughts good luck

6 Likes

I prefer a wide pot for stability and ease of access. Plants will fill all available space with roots.

6 Likes