Is curing important?

So from what i see on youtube and here is that curing improves flavor and smell. My friend said curing isnt important. What is everyones opinion? Im new to growing but so far so good im thinking im 2 weeks out maybe. Hes grown a plant before but idk how it came out.

2 Likes

Seriously? Curing is what makes your cannabis not smell like freshly cut hay! It brings the terpines forward, gets all the moisture in the bud evenly distributed from the stem and inner bud to the outer bud. It makes your dope less harsh and burn more consistently. Proper curing also ensures a longer storage life.
Surebyou can dry yer dope and smoke it, it may even taste good and smoke well? You will get high off it just loke cured pot, but it will not be nearly as good as cured dope. Once that chlorophyll is gone… big difference!

13 Likes

I’ve sampled my harvest before it was cured. It’s like smoking hay.

8 Likes

Drying takes about 10 days to 2 weeks if done right, and curing generally takes another month minimum and 3 months to really cure it right. Of course, most folks smoke it all way before the 3 months is up :laughing:

7 Likes

2 - 3 weeks usually makes a big difference. I store mine in ball jars, so it really cures a long time. Like a good wine or whiskey…

6 Likes

This Balkhi is impressive! Smokes beautiful even just dried. I can only imagine excellence when proper cure is finished. Right now the bud smells freshly cut and a bit like funky pot hay. The smoke is fantastic! Tastes great, really smooth! Thats the exception rather than the norm, usually dried non cured bud tastes harsh and smokes badly, and may be like burning wet lawn.

4 Likes

I was out and just harvested a blueberry a few weeks ago. I’ve smoked on it since it has been dried. It’s really starting to mellow out, and the buzz is nicer too.

3 Likes

I usually store cannabis under a quarter pound in mason jars. Once you start getting into pounds, use ziplocks and 5 gallon paint buckets.