I'm a newbie, and need advice

I’m getting ready to start my first ever grow. I’ve got LED lights, sensor humidifier, tin foil up (mostly, still working the kinks out on making a ‘front door/wall’), organic soil, FoxFarms nutrients and cal-mag on its way. I’ve got my closet set up for a 4x4 foot grow area. I’m hoping to start my Blue Dream autos on germination in the coming week.
I’m trying to keep it small and simple for my first time. Is there anything I’m missing before I start? I’m super nervous on this next adventure of mine.

3 Likes

Welcome to the forum.

I have a couple of comments/questions.

Which LEDs? There are some unfortunate sellers out there who take advantage of new growers.

Flat white paint is as effective as any reflective material.

Which soil (brand and type)?

How many plants do you plan on growing the in the area?

6 Likes

You beat me to all the questions @MidwestGuy. Need more info.

4 Likes

Do you have your pH pen and EC pen? Those are a must.

5 Likes

Your ladys would thank you for having some air flow so some fans

5 Likes

@MidwestGuy @GreggT Good! I was hoping someone would quiz me, that’s why I was a little vague. Ive done as much research as I could the last few months. I’ve got ViparSpectra XS200 led. I went with Burpee Organic soil 0.6-0.3-0.3 as I’m also germinating a large portion of my garden and it seemed to have what I needed for both purposes as best as I could find. I really only plan on growing 2 plants.
@merlin44 I’ve got a pH pen, I don’t know what the other tool you mention is. Please let me know and I’ll look into it!
@Skid2 I have a small desk fan and a box fan at the ready!

I didn’t know about the paint being just as good! Any brand better than the next? Anything else that should/ shouldn’t be in the paint?

4 Likes