I'm a first time grower. I have questions

Hello. I just joined the forum. I want to start growing and I think I have almost everything I need. I have lots of questions so please bear with me. I have tried looking for the answers to my questions before posting here but I’m not getting very far. I have a 30 inch tall grow box from Hello Grower with LED lights and a small hydroponic set up. I have small rockwool cubes and clay pebbles. I have Strawberry cough seeds from ILGM. I have nutrients from General Hydroponics, a pH control kit from General Hydroponics & a pH meter. I plan to get a hydrometer and a carbon dioxide monitor. I realize I am going to try to grow a sativa strain in a small box. I’m willing to deal with that. I have basic questions I want to ask before I germinate. First question, how do I control temperature? Second, how do I control carbon dioxide? I have no experience at all doing this so please treat me as such. Any insight is appreciated. Thank You.

1 Like

Hello, and welcome!

1. This depends on the environment of the room outside the box.

2. Ambient atmospheric CO2 is sufficient for your setup; the box has a fan that exhausts stale air and pulls in fresh air.

3. A naturally shorter plant would be better. You’ll have your work cut out for you.

Thank You

1 Like

How do I control humidity?

Humidifier or dehumidifier which ever is needed. You may be ok with a fan which you need anyway for air circulation. Depends on room humidity.

@dbrn32 mention to me about a small box grow

1 Like

The box is very small, 15 inches wide, 15 inches long, 30 inches tall. I set the humidity the way I need it to be in the room where the box is?

Yes. Get a hygrometer if you dont have one to keep an eye on the humidity. You’ll only be able to grow one very small plant fyi.

What’s your ambient humidity going to be like?

We tend to worry about humidity in order to optimize growth; you actually want to stunt growth a bit.