I need help understanding how to check run off and what it means

Ok so I’m having a hard time understanding something I’m sure is simple to some but this is my first time and frankly it’s kicking my ass! I’m useing Bergman’s nutes and properly measuring, chart says ec should be 2.5. So my question is, does this mean 2.5 runoff? I checked my runoff today and it’s 2.7, so do I keep giving ph balanced water until my ec runoff is below 2.5 and add nutes again? I have been fighting some kind of deficiency(s) for weeks now(had thread started) and I just want to understand how to check ec? I think I have the ph down, although I was useing ro water and adjusting ph but was told ro doesn’t have ph, so now I’m just going back to tap water and adjust my ph lol

I’m useing the blue lab combo meter and I’m useing soil not hydro.

Please help me understand, I don’t wanna be stressed this should be fun.

This is the EC of the water you are feeding, not what’s coming out.

Nope. The idea here is you will water normally (EC 2.5 and pH 6.5Ish) regularly with about 20% runoff every time you water.

The only time I take a moment to check my runoff numbers is if something is wrong with my plant and basic troubleshooting hasn’t helped (reviewing notes and checking my NPK ratio is still in line with my expectations of what I thought I was giving her). You can generally assume that if you got it right going into the soil, it will come out “close but not quite.” Runoff will always be a little off from what you feed, because your plant will eat and leave behind salts in the soil that rinse away in runoff and throw runoff numbers a bit out of whack from what you’re putting in.

EC/tds/ppm is all the same information, more or less, just different scales to talk about the same thing.