HPS lamps destroying my plants

Hey so I grew two little babies til they started showing white pistils. I switched them to a flowering cycle and I used a HPS lamp which I’ve never done before. I didn’t have an extraction fan or Andy fan inside for that fact and it burnt the !@#$ out of my plants. Pretty much the whole top canopy is gone. I trimmed all the yellow/brown leaves off and switched them back to veg cycle (18/6) to get them back again cause I only had them on flower for 1 day. I was just wondering how far my lamp should be from the canopy and if I had an extraction fan would that help to?

Yes having an extraction fan would help a whole lot. You also want a oscillating/circulating fan circulating air between the canopy and the light. With HPS light it is real easy to tell if the light is too close, hold the back of your hand at the level of the canopy, If the heat is too hot for the back of your hand, it is too hot for the leaves, you’ll need to raise the light higher until you can keep your hand under the light without it getting uncomfortable. You can use the underside of your forearm, kinda like testing a baby bottle, the skin on that part near your wrist will be a little more sensitive if you want to be extra safe.

:smiley: I could not have said it better myself! LOL

Great info.

your HPS did not burn ro kill your plants; It is the fact that you did not research how to use an HID lamp before you grew.

We are here to help, and widh you good luck in the future
Peace

Okay so I did do my research actually.

I was just told things and read things that were wrong. I’m not exactly how sure to keep the lamp from my plants because no matter what height I set it at it still feels fine on the back of my hand/ forearm. So that’s no help at all. I mean in feet, cm, mm anything but saying the back of your hand. And the extraction will probly help alot but I haven’t set it up yet cause it sounds like a !@#$ing key engine.