How big of a container when growing organic?

Hey guys, this is my first time growing and I’m doing organic. I vegged for 37 days and switched to flower. The strains I’m growing ILGM - Blue Dream/Gold Leaf are 9 week flower time. They are in 10 gal fabric pots. I’m wondering, is 10 gal enough? How do you know what size container to get when growing organic? This pic is 9 days into flower and I do compost teas every 2 weeks. The other pic is the soil I’m using. Any info helps thanks!
image image

Even with my head tilted, that’s a beautiful sea of green! Nice growing. I wish I knew more about your question to help.

1 Like

Thanks man. I’m doing my best. Idk why it tilts my pics all the time lol

1 Like

how big do you want your plants?

The larger the pot or mound the bigger the roots can get. Since the root is responsible for transporting the food and water it stands to reason a huge area will allow the plant to reach its potential given the right climate.

1 Like

Holy crap man!!! Those are massive! They are like trees :evergreen_tree:. Very impressive! As far as how big I want mine I did 37 days of veg. Do you think 10 gal is enough to take me through 9 weeks of flower? I transplanted them into the 10 gal from a 3 gal 7 days before I flipped to flower.

One trick many outdoor enthusiasts use to promote growth and strong plants is to focus watering at or slightly beyond the drip line. I start this practice as early as the seedling. This helps the plant establish a wide base to prevent wind damage and gives the plant an ever widening area for food and water.

2 Likes

I grow mine from around xmas to October of the following year. They go in the ground looking like this

Then the plants veg until August.