Hi when's the best to top plants

Hi my plants are 21 days old and I can see 4 nodes do you guys just top once then that’s it help and opinions much appreciated

1 Like

I usually top once the plant have 4 to 6 nodes depending on how she has grown and if she has displayed any stress or anything. What kind of training are you going for?

2 Likes

@Dieselgrower hi I’m a complete noob it’s my first grow was just guner top as recommended and see how they grow themselves with bit of pruning do you think that would be ok

I will usually top at the 3rd or 4th node. Then I’ll let her recover for a few days and then begin the lst and on pruning it is a preference. Some will prune the lowers on each branch others will leave and some will leave then take off later. I like to do it in moderation to try to lessen the stress put on the plant.

2 Likes

I like to wait until I have a good clone candidate above the 5th node. I like at least 2" in the soil when I clone.

1 Like

They are tall enough to top now.

1 Like

@FloridaSon @TDubWilly @Dieselgrower thanks so once I top now do you guys top later on aswel or just start with LSTing :+1:

2 Likes

I’m relatively new myself but what I do is I’ll first top a plant and then give it at least a week to recover. Then the next time on that plant I may try to fim it. And then I go back and forth as needed. I’m also a big believer in low-stress training. Those are the two methods I use every time I have a grow going.
Enjoy your grow. If you have questions post them. Very knowledgeable and kind people on this forum.

3 Likes

@neckNflu Thanks buddy

1 Like

This is not common practice amongst many growers although there might be some out there, this is just what I do…

If there is a place where I want one to split into two, then I top it…

I have topped plants in like 10 different places I’ve different periods of time.

Shows you how resilient these things are.

I Fimmed this guy no less than ten times

4 Likes