Help with seedling please!

Hey folks!

New grower here and im concerned I have a problem with one of my seedlings.

The one in the Red Solo cup was planted over a week after the other. As you can see, it more than doubled the size and is looking pretty healthy although there is some droop.

The smaller one has some yellowing on the leaves that was likely caused by over watering. Though it could also be the light?

The light is placed 12" from the plants with full intensity, 16 hours a day. Im using 2 Mars t1000 in a 2x4 tent.

Any advice on how to salvage this? Am I over thinking and over reacting?

I appreciate any input. Thanks!

1 Like

I love it when they look like eagles in flight! I would say, being a novice myself, too much water, not enough soil and perhaps a hole in the bottom of the cup for drainage. Go get em!!!

1 Like

I poked holes in the red cup. The other is part of a whole kit specifically for growing pot. Im definitely thinking its over watered, but would that stunt the growth so much?

It is and it does. It’s called ‘damping off’ and will drown a seedling.

Remember that sprouts derive all of their moisture from the air so watering the media indirectly waters plant. Better to dome sprouts and mist inside of dome with distilled water for two weeks. No nutes at all: first leaves (cotyledons) provide all nutrition and nothing is needed until they yellow and drop.

6 Likes

So spray dome and nothing else, got it. How long do I do that?

25 “spritzes” in a 4 inch terra cotta pot twice a day. Add more soil to raise it over the rim of the cup to get more light and ventilation. You’re going to have fun!

That makes sense! Thanks @pedally!
Should I transfer the seedling in the kit to a cup? I won’t disturb the soil if I do, but it would give it more room. I just want my first grow to be awesome and this kit has me thoroughly unimpressed.

1 Like

Or until a tap root starts to show out of the bottom.

2 Likes