Help with light placement and DLI

So I’m new to growing and just got the AC Infinity 11" Ionbeams and trying to figure out the best placement for them.

Current set up

2x2x6
ACI S22 ionboard 100w
ACI ionbeam U2 - UVA light, 2 bars mounted on canvas side about 12" from canopy. 24w @ max(manufacturers recommendation is lvl 5 for 2x2) so 12w.

Thinking of putting the Ionbeams on each corner of tent. Just not sure how high or low. Manufacturer recommends seed - 1" @ 10%, Veg - 2" @ 30%, veg - 6" @60%, and flower - 6" @ 100%.

Also growing a single Auto in 5 gal gabric pot. Just want to make sure i dont get to close but want to be able to provide light below if possible.

1st question being - should I pole mount, fabric mount, or mount above canopy some how?, create a single wall of light?

2nd ? - what height above or below canopy? Or keep equal with canopy?

3rd ? - should I measure DLI per individual light and add together? Or measure DLI with all fo them on?

Just not sure if I will get within the 6in if mounted on pole or not. Since it is my first grow.

Any help :pray:

Also ignore my tiny door to Happiness! Lol

She’s also just about to go to sleep and get her water tonight. That’s why she is droopy.

I always hang the lights in the range recommended by the manufacturer and dial on DLI with the dimmer. Don’t measure DLI separately for each light. Measure it at the canopy level all together. I hang my UV bar beside (parallel to) the main light.

2 Likes

If I mount them on the poles do you think a single auto will get within 6in?

Also be sure to close the tent door as best as possible while taking your readings. A wide open door will result in a low reading.

2 Likes

That I all ready do! Little hole for my hand to stick through. Lol

It could, but you can bend and train it however you need it to be. You could also move the lights if needed. Give it a try however you want to set things up and you can always change it around later.

1 Like