Help with First Time Dry Process

Ok folks, I’m sure you’ve all been here at some point.

I’ve been thinking about the dry / curing process since I put my first seeds in a wet papertowel a couple months ago. Well, those auto buds (shockingly considering my lack of gardening talent) are really growing and are likely only another couple weeks away from harvest.

As a newbie I hate to ask but you guys are the experts so if I give you some situational parameters, my hope is you’ll pull me through this stressful time. :slight_smile: You certainly did when you convinced me to jump off the edge, buy a few seeds, get the planted, make some mistakes, learn from them and become a better grower from it.

My situation on the dry / cure - 1. First up are three white widow autos. One large, one medium, one meh. 2. The surroundings - they’ve been grown outside, I live in a legal state (WA) but crowded neighborhood. I’ve got a 6’ fence but anyone that really wanted my girls could get them. 2. I really don’t think I’m going to get away with drying them inside a closet in the house. While my wife is ok with a limited outside grow, stinking up the interior is gonna be a no go. 3. I don’t even have a grow tent for the garage although that appears to be one of the top two options I can see for drying at this point. The other being a large (frig size) cardboard box. Someone in another thread suggested the possibility of drying outside - which, if possible, would be awesome. Frig box with holes cut into the sides to allow ventilation? Maybe 4" fan set up to make sure the air is moving?

I think what’s got me flummoxed is that, to this point, I haven’t had to invest in grow tent (and like) accessories - I’ve been able to put my dollars in outside stuff.

Or scrap the cardboard box idea and suck it up and buy a reasonably priced grow tent, fans, carbon filter and do it right?