Help: What seed to cultivate in the Sonoran desert?

Okay, I’ve been researching and reading this site for months and overwhelmed! Please can anyone steer me toward the best seed selection for my intent and highly unique environment:

1. I want to grow something for medicinal use (pain, stress, sleep)

2. I live in the Sonoran desert AZ. It’s tough to grow anything here that is not indigenous. Sun, heat and low humidity. Right now warm days, cold nights. That will change in a couple months to predominantly warm/hot sunny — always low humidity — 24/7 until Halloween.

3. I’ll need to grow outside for space reasons and privacy is not an issue

4. They will be in pots outdoors—not in ground

5. I’m a Newbie at this so something that is too difficult

Now, for all you savvy, smart, experienced growers, what seed am I looking for???

In advance, a million thanks!!!

Look into landrace strains and choose from what you’re looking for. ILGM has Durban poison. Seed supreme also has a bunch of landrace strain seeds

I would recommend the Afghani strains from the Seed Shop above as your environment is not too far from Afghanistans

Thanks for educating me on land race strains! From the past hour researching, it sounds like a smart reco! Again, many thanks for sharing your insight!

Makes sense! Smart! Thanks for offering your perspective!

I forgot to mention Hindu Kush seeds (from above Seed Shop)

I am planting Afghani and Hidu Kush seeds myself this grow season, under glass, exterior in western Wales on the top of a mountain, so I reckon these gals will feel at home…I bloody well hope so !

J68

Interesting choice in your environment (I think of it as cloudy with little sun in Wales). Curious, will you do fem or auto flowering?