Help newbie here

Hi I’m new here. A first time grower and don’t know what I’m doing when it comes to soil. Or using this website. So sorry if this question is in the wrong place! I’ve been trying to research before growing and I’m completely over whelmed. What soil do I use? How do I test it? What am I even testing for? What do I add to the soil? How often do I need to add something to it? Is watering it just okay? I’m used to just growing something like tomatoes outside where you water it and forget it. I have a 3x3 grow room and would love any help. Was going to get into hydroponics, but don’t have the funds right now. Figured I’d try with good ol easy dirt but boy was I wrong.

Welcome dude. Personally, I’d say save up a few more bucks and grow with hydro. Waaaay easier to correct all the mistakes your about to make :wink:. I’m of no use when it comes to growing with soil. Only on my 3rd hydro grow myself. I’ll be following

1 Like

First download the “grow guide” read it! Read it again. It will help immensely. It will put things in order for you.

2 Likes

Welcome!

Breath deeply. Soil is not intimidating. It’s really quite easy. Actually, I feel like it’s 100x more complicated than hydroponic cultivation if you want to perfect it, but it’s extremely easy to buy a bagged soil and just water it with tap water for a respectable result.

Many bagged soils are good through flower with water alone. You can’t expect the same yield as a perfectly tuned super-soil or hydroponic, but you’ll get a very good product. Why don’t you see what is available locally, make a list, and come back here.

If you decide you want to run a slightly hotter soil, we can talk about soil amendments.

Long-term soil reuse is possible, but you will need to amend the soil somehow. Consider that, IMO, you need to use much larger containers to accomplish regenerative living soil grows indoors, compared to what most of us will ever use.