Help ! I did a water change,and when i lifted the plant half the roots broke off. Did i just lose my plant ? Or can i save it?

I in a panic, i just did a water change on my dwc and when i lifted the plant up half of the roots broke off. I continued the water change with adding a little more nitro and continued adding bloom with hydro guard. Did i just lose my plant ?

Looks like you might have root afids… look really good at your roots and the net basket… if your roots are dieing and falling off , there is something going on… :wink:

:v::sunglasses:

4 Likes

I think peachfuzz is correct. All of those white specs around your net pot do look like root aphids. They were probably the main culprit in weakening your roots in the first place causing them to break off so easily. I would bring the water line up to try to help revive her but I don’t know if it would do much help with the infestation. Best of luck.

2 Likes

Being that im a beginner to this ,

1. What causes it?
    2.is it curable?
    3.is this plant going to die?

Root aphids are bugs and they are outside, unfortunately when you grow outside you open yourself up to nature. You can get some sprays although not sure which would be best in this situation as I know nothing about hydro
Mabey curable if the damage isn’t to extensive but you need to get infestation under control I will tag someone who knows alot about this stuff @garrigan62 do you think you could post some remedies for root aphids if you know of any please and thank you kind sir

2 Likes

Thankyou i will give it a shot

@TDubWilly @Donaldj hydro gurus…help! Can anything else be done?

1 Like

Ya I looked at this thread earlier. I’ve never dealt or even heard of root aphids so I know nothing about them.